It was a busy day but full of fun stuff!

Reading:

I tried out my new Libby app that connects right to the library and found the book The Kissing Quotient.

Wow what an awesome book! It tells the story of autistic Stella who is under pressure from her parents to have a husband and children, but Stella finds it very difficult to have relationships. A jerk at her office tells her that she needs to practice to get a guy to like her so Stella hires a professional.

Michael and Stella’s relationship quickly moves from professional.

I really liked the characters of Michael and Stella! Stella is well written and portrayed fairly! Some of her characteristics even made me wonder if I’m a little aspbergers ( I’ve heard we all are). Michael is also a very interesting character who remains a bit of a mystery for a lot of the book. He is battling demons from his past, but you don’t really get a clear picture of what they are until later in the book.

The back-up cast of family is great! At the start I really didn’t like Stella’s mom and preferred her dad, but at the end that had reversed. Michael’s Family is huge and crazy and awesome. I really liked the relationship between him and his cousin- so realistically guy!

The only small bit that bothered me was the problem at the end of the book as yet again it hinged on miscommunication. It was well done, this is just my least favourite problem style.

I read this book in a day and enjoyed every second!!!

Exercise:

I ran with my sister in law down to my nephew’s soccer game. It was a definite challenge as there were hills and she is fast! It at least got done though!

Socializing:

We headed out to the bonfire as a group and enjoyed a few hours of socializing.

It was great to see the kids out in the bush playing with sticks and running all over the place. My nephew and brother were having a blast! I was thankful for the couple of women who approached me and I had a conversation with. The best part of the day for me was having a gluten free, dairy free burger as this family is celiac too.

I just have to throw this picture in of my fur niece as she is just so cute! She never lets my brother out of her sight though!

Eating:

Miracles of miracles my brother and sister in law ended up with a child free night. I offered them the chance to have a date night but we all went to the local pub instead after they voted. I enjoy pubs more than restaurants and the fish tacos at McRae’s were amazing! The nachos and drinks were good too!

Movie:

We settled down for a movie when we got home but made the mistake of letting my brother choose. Monty Python’s Life if Brian could definitely be funny, but wasn’t really what I was in the mood for tonight. I probably couldn’t talk him into a Hallmark movie.🤣

Knitting:

I started on my next project when we spent an hour in the car each way getting to the bonfire. I have chosen 22.5 Degrees by Martina Behm. I’m loving it so far, but it is kind of mindless at this point. We’ll see how I do on the scallop edge as that seems a little scary to me.

Well I’m happy to be going to sleep earlier tonight!

Have fun!

AJ

27 thoughts on “Busy Family Visit

    1. I had first seen the kissing quotient on a blog and I’m so glad I read it!
      Oh I try to avoid books and movies where I will cry

    1. It was fun, but might have been even better if I had known people! That is definitely not my wheelhouse- having to talk to people I don’t know

    1. Yes the book was very different premise from what I usually read, but I enjoyed it:)
      The family time is usually good once I get there:)

Leave a comment