A true holiday! I figure I might as well write early tonight as I’m in on the couch already.

Exercise:

Absolutely none except for a walk to and from the hospital (about three blocks total). I had plans for a long run today as it’s a holiday here, but then I slept in until 8:20 and stayed in my jammies until noon. I’m not sure I’ve ever done that before!🤣

Socializing:

I met up with my running buddy Brenda and we went to visit our other running buddy who was rushed to emergency at 3am Saturday morning. It turns out she had a pulmonary embolism and they also corrected her asthma diagnosis to COPD:( She was hoping to come home today but it looks like it will be another few days at least. We took her some things – lotion, mints, a novel, magazines, a notepad and pens to keep her entertained and hopefully comfortable. She says she’s feeling better than she has in a while. It’s great she gets this awesome private room with a garden view because she spent 45 minutes in a hospital in Holland😂. I don’t ever really like visiting hospitals- already spent enough time in them, but today wasn’t so bad because we got to sit out in this gorgeous little garden in the sunshine:)

I also went up this evening to let Sarah, my other running buddy’s dogs out as her and her man were both working. It was a fun half hour:)

I have also been tagged for the very first time on the blog today. I require some help before I can fulfill this tag though- can someone please tell me how I can link to someone’s blog in my blog. I often want to mention someone’s blog on mine, but don’t j ow how to do this properly so they’re name is a link to their blog. I’d appreciate any help anyone can give. You may have guessed, I’m not the most techy person! Actually when I worked for the university, they told me it would be cheaper for me to go interrupt someone else and have them do what I needed than to keep having to fix the electronic devices I touched 🤣🤣 (unfortunately a true story with no embellishment).

Eating:

It’s a tie between breakfast and lunch for the best meal of the day! Lunch was a turkey, dressing and cranberry sauce sandwich, arguably the best part of Thanksgiving is the turkey sandwich the next day:). Breakfast, which was very late as I wasn’t very hungry when I got up, was a hash using the bacon cornbread stuffing from yesterday. I took a half cup of the stuffing and put it in the fry pan to heat and then broke an egg over it and allowed that to cook. When I slid it onto my plate, I frayed a half ounce of jalapeño cheese over the top. Woah was it ever good! This was definitely the way to eat this stuffing!

Sorry the picture does not do it justice!

Crafting:

I got down to my old house (wish I had never seen this sight😞😖 and cut the lavender there as well as at my friend Sarah’s place. It will be used for the Christmas gifts I’m making for my friends. I don’t think I have enough though. If anyone knows where to get dried lavendar or balsam fir, please tell me!

Knitting wise, I have now restarted my nephew’s scarf eight times! If nothing else, knitting is good for teaching perseverance. It isn’t even a tough project though! I have settled on a 2×2 rib and that’s just what it’s going to be! I was hoping to be done today, but I really don’t think that’ll happen. Maybe tomorrow. It has been lovely to sit here in the October sunshine and knit on this gorgeous holiday! I’ve been like a cat all day😂.

I’m ending my holiday with watching “The Inheritence”. It is a movie made out of the list novel of Louisa May Alcott. I picked it up at Orchard House this summer while I was there. My friends say they have never seen me buy something so quickly (yes I’m usually frugal and careful with my money), but I’d been looking for it for a while, so it was an easy decision when I saw it.

I hope you’re all having a great Monday, holiday or not!

Have fun!

AJ

15 thoughts on “Chilling in the October Sunshine

  1. Hi AJ, I didn’t realise I want following you…how did that happen…!!? Anyway, I am now 🙂 I watched The Inheritance for the first time the other day and really enjoyed it 🙂
    When it comes to linking with another blog… If I remember correctly you copy the posts url addressy thing at the top and on your own blog post you click on the link button on the tool bar , then paste it in the little window that pops up. You then write the word/s as how you want it to appear on the line below. When you publish your post it sends the author of the other blog a pingback message. Xxx

  2. Sounds like you had a fun day!
    I hope your friend is feeling well enough to go home soon. Having a diagnosis is better than not.
    To link to a blog, person or whatever there is a chain link looking thing in the tools. If you highlight the words you want to be the link, then click the chain link thing a box will pop up you can then copy/paste the link into that box. I hope this makes sense:)

  3. Sounds like a lovely holiday. For my Thanksgiving leftovers I look forward to the dumplings!!! And now this year we probably won’t be able to be with family, so I will have to rely on my sister to bring them back to me.

    1. Dumplings, yum! What are they made of? I saw recipes for sweet potato dumplings that I was considering.
      I was worried about being alone for Thanksgiving, but I have an awesome friend who made the day special for me:)

  4. I discovered that although I had the settings correct, I was not getting an email when you published a post. I’m wondering if WordPress is determined that everyone must go to the Reader. I will have to check the Reader every day, because I do NOT want to miss a single one of your interesting articles.

    1. Oh thank you so much! I just started the blog because there were so many aspects of my life, I wanted to keep notes on and I wanted to be more aware in my life – take note of the little things:) I’ve found as I’ve been writing that I really enjoy it, but I worry that my life is so boring that no one will want to read about it,lol

    1. Yes aren’t they adorable! I am lucky my friends and family have pets so I can get my fix:) I did have a great Thanksgiving, thanks to an awesome friend!

  5. Highlight the name of your friend’s blog, click the paperclip looking icon, and fill in the rectangle with your friend’s blog address. I hope your friend gets well soon.

Leave a Reply

