Well it’s my last day off for summer 2019 and it’s been a very different weekend. I am house and dog sitting for my brother so have been coming and going and without all my “stuff” all weekend.

Exercise:

I ran on Saturday morning with Sarah and did a loop of coquitlam River. It was nice to have company for a change and the 4.5km was bonus for the month. I ended up with 104.9km for the month so I’m happy about that. It gives me about a 10km buffer for the last four months.

I also ran Sunday but in a different way. My friend Brenda is just getting back to running after finding out her orthotics were made wrong. How frustrating to hear four years of pain we’re due to human error. Sunday was her first day of a run walk program so Dennis and I did loops around her to make sure we were there to run her one minute with her. It was great to have Brenda back and I still got 4.2km In so I was happy!

Unfortunately there has been no other exercise as Mr. Banks likes to “help” if I try to do any in the house. I guess the weight workout gets back on track starting tomorrow.

Family/ Shopping:

I have been spending as much time as possible with my mom and am really excited that she can’t leave after her appt tomorrow and actually has to stay until Saturday! I will have to make sure I see her each day while I can!

Saturday we only had a short time so I stopped by the big Signature Liquor Store to pick up some wine. If you like a sweet wine- try out the Naked Grape Blue it Purple. I love it and never lose my wine at parties because of the colour. It seems to only be a summer thing though so I wanted to make sure I had a bottle of each for the next parties I go to.

I also managed to get my back to school hair cut on Saturday. Nobody will ever be able to tell, but yearly hair cut✅

On Sunday we spent a lot of time back to school shopping. I’m just like a kid and like to get something new to wear when I go back to school. We managed to find quite a few nice things:)

Reading:

Haven’t done much this weekend as there always seems to be a nose between me and the book.

Knitting:

I unpicked to row 59 and redid row 60 with no problem, but my brother’s house was too dark to start row 61 as I couldn’t see if the pattern was lining up.

I tried to start a project for my Harry Potter group on Ravelry, but quickly determined that I hated the yarn, so it will be going in the donation bin when I get home.

Movies:

I have watched a lot of movies- one thing you can do when you have a puppy on you.

Falling Inn Love- a Netflix original was a very sweet and funny romantic comedy. I really liked the banter between the two main characters- their timing was great! The supporting cast of quirky townsfolk where good too. Of course, the whole house DIY concept of the movie totally appealed to me.

For Love and Honor- a Hallmark movie was a sweet, but really unbelievable movie. As a teacher, I spent the whole movie wondering which planet they were on as kids don’t accommodate change that easily. I kept waiting for the pain in the butt kid to show up.

Season For Love- a super cute movie about a BBQ festival. All the bbqing made me so hungry! It was a cute movie with no overblown drama which I appreciated.

The One and Only was a Hallmark movie about a woman who is on a reality dating show and falls for her ranch host rather than her husband candidate. It was cute but didn’t seem to have much character development. I know that she was supposed to have much better chemistry with one than the other, but it was really hard to tell.

Well I’m off to spend one last day with my mom.

Have fun!

AJ

21 thoughts on “The Last Weekend

  1. I’ve lost touch with your blog a bit, sorry! But this looks like some fun days. I did love this, “there always seems to be a nose between me and the book” – bet you’ll be glad to get home!

  2. glad to hear you are getting back out running and enjoying it again. I’m sure you are enjoying having your mom around to run errands with as you wrap up the end of your vacation time.

  3. You have packed a lot into your last days before school starts up again! But it sounds like you had a pretty great summer 🙂 Looking forward to hearing about your new school year!

  4. I wish you a smooth Back To School transition, AJ. Sounds like you’ve prepared well and are ready! (and one of my favourite things from this summer was Naked Grape white sangria. It was delicious and also had a label that changed colour in the fridge. Sadly, just offered in the summer, I think!) 🙂

  5. Hi, AJ. I’ve missed reading your blog. My mom became critically ill and I’ve been away for a couple of months.
    I need to check my orthotics. My feet are always hurting.
    Thanks for telling me about the movies. I’m going to try to check a couple of them out.
    Enjoy your mom and the puppy. 😉

Leave a comment