It has been a relatively quiet day, which isn’t a bad way to end off the year and the decade.

I spent a lot of time today getting all of my new clothes entered into my Stylebook app. I appreciate this app as it lets me keep tabs on what I wear in my wardrobe and what I should let go. Lots of my friends tease me about it, but it has definitely helped me step up and buy good clothing when I see how little cost per wear they end up being.

Shopping:

I grabbed my mom and then did a few boring errands. I bought a ton of treats for tonight and now feel like I have eaten way too much!

Exercise:

I ended up watching two Hallmark Christmas movies so ended up exercising twice. I did:

36 reverse lunges

30 crunches

10 pushups

40 jacks

20 squats

20 plié squats

25 curtsy lunges

10 burpees

10 dips

20 high knees

60 squats with side leg lift

20 reverse crunches

20 side kicks

26 front kicks

50 mountain climbers

10 supermen

16 shoulder taps

10 side shuffles (both ways is 1)

10 knee raises

16 lateral lunges per side

Movies:

I have watched Picture a Perfect Christmas and Mistletoe and Menorahs. They were both fun.

I am now trying to identify elements that are in lots of non seasonal hallmark movies so I can keep the exercise regimen going.

Here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

Going for a walk or run

Getting coffee

Eating a meal together

Playing with a dog

Conversation with mom or dad

Makeover

Going shopping

Arguing or bantering

Laughing together

Baking or cooking together

Town scene or montage

If anyone has any other elements, I’d love to hear them!

Blogmas:

I wanted to save the last day of Abbey’s Blogmas until today since it’s about New Year’s Eve.

Oh and if you haven’t visited Abbey’s site, you really should! She has an awesome post about what she thought her year would be like. It’s so neat!

New Year’s Eve has never really been a huge event in my life. As a kid we did a jigsaw puzzle and banged pots and pans at midnight. As a teenager/20 year old, I went to parties with my brother and his friends. Now I mostly just spend a quiet night at home doing my usual movies, books and knitting. One thing I do think about are my goals.

Goals for 2020:

I am very goal oriented and can become obsessed with accomplishing so I try not to make too many set in stone goals. Some things I want to keep in mind this year are:

Eat to fuel my running and be healthy.

Run consistently.

Do a workout every time I watch a hallmark movie.

Knit sweaters, hats and scarves for myself.

Knit from my stash

Keep track of my exercise and finances the old fashioned way.

Read more non-fiction.

Well I’m sure there are lots of other things I’ll come up with along the way, but this is good for a start:)

Happy New Year everyone and have fun!

AJ

37 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

      1. I’ve actually read several non-fiction books I’ve loved, including: Bad Blood by John Carreyrou; It Ain’t All About the Cookin’ by Paula Dean; The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot; Born a Crime by Trevor Noah; Secret Daughter by June Cross; Black Like Me by John Howard Griffin; Not Without My Daughter by Betty Mahmoody.
        Those are a few I remember off of the top of my head that I really enjoyed. 😊

      1. Oh thank you but I just don’t mention the ones I sit and do nothing or the fact that I’ll do anything other than clean

  1. Aj I love Non fiction. Can make some suggestions!
    Deep Down Dark the Chilean miner story
    Death in the Grand Canyon
    That incredible book about the bird who could say many many words…..oh I have to think of it.
    The Day the World Came to Town!!!! Fantastic

    1. Ok please keep the ideas coming! I have two non fiction books on my shelf, but after that I’m going to need help for interesting ones!

  2. I love your Hallmark exercises – such a good idea! Happy New Year and I look forward to following your life in 2020. I don’t always read and I don’t always comment but I look forward to seeing your posts pop up in my Feedly!

Leave a comment